Guinea Bissau


Guinea Bissau is a small tropical country located in Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, located between Guinea in the south and east and Senegal in the north. It covers a total area of 36,125 km² of which 8,005 km² (22.16%) is water. The terrain of Guinea-Bissau is mostly low coastal plain with mangrove swamps rising to Guinean forest-savanna mosaic at a maximum height of 300m in the east. The Bijagos Archipelago extends out to sea. Guinea Bissau ranks one of the five poorest countries in the world. Its Human Development Index is also one of the lowest in the world. Equally, the inequality of income distribution is one of the most extreme in the world with more than two-thirds of the population living below the poverty line. 


Geologically, Guinea Bissau can be divided into three tectono-stratigraphic units. In the extreme northeast Neoproterozoic rocks occur comprising metavolcanics and low-grade to unmetamorphosed sediments belonging to the West Africa polyorogenic belt at the margin of the West Africa Craton. Eastern Central Guinea Bissau comprises Palaeozoic strata dominated by sediments of the Bove Basin and to the west  these Palaeozoic rocks are unconformably overlain by Cenozoic to Recent sediments mainly of marine origin (source).